Five Pillars of the Reformation

In 1517, Martin Luther posted his 95 theses on the door of Castle Church in Wittenberg, Germany. This bold act is widely regarded as the starting point of the Protestant Reformation and subsequently ignited a transformation of Christian theology. In honor of the 500 year anniversary of this event, Rev. Dr. Sundermeier will teach a special Theology Matters course that explores the historical and biblical background of the five theological pillars, or “solas,” of the Reformation: Sola Scriptura (by Scripture alone), Sola fide (by faith alone), Sola gratia (by grace alone), Solus Christus (by Christ alone), and Soli Deo Gloria (glory to God alone). 

Taught by: Rev. Dr. Tony Sundermeier

Lecture Videos

Session 1: The Protestant Reformation: An Introduction

Session 2: Sola Scriptura: By Scripture Alone

Session 3: Sola Gratia: By Grace Alone

Session 4: Sola Fide: By Faith Alone

Session 5: Solus Christus: By Christ Alone

Session 6: Soli Deo Gloria: For the Glory of God Alone